OA

Indicates Original is Available!

CLICK GALLERY FOR DETAILS

CLICK TITLES TO VIEW

McIntire picture

“McIntyre Hotel circa 1900”

This is Main Street. Dutton in the early 1900’s with its wooden boardwalk, mud streets and the old McIntyre Hotel. The McIntyre Hotel is one of the oldest buildings on Main Street. In 1875 A. McMillan built the Dominion House. In 1881 W. Nelson managed the hotel under the name Nelson House and purchased it in 1883. J.H. McIntyre bought the hotel in 1888 and changed the name to the McIntyre House Hotel. The name remains today. There were 26 bedrooms to let, several sample rooms, a large dining room as well as a livery stable out back. The stables were reached by passing through an archway at the north end of the building. Traveling salesmen set up and sold their wares from the sample rooms at the front of the hotel. The lovely overhanging porch eventually was removed and the hotel barely resembles the picturesque building of a gentler time. Numerous owners have made their changes and gone, leaving only the memories.

The McIntyre was mentioned in John Kenneth Galbraith’s memorable book “The Scotch.” Galbraith visited and was recorded on film, having a pint with the locals at the “Mac”.
Note: Main Street has been re-named Currie Road and a fire destroyed the McIntyre leaving a hole in the business core.
Jenny


Village Crier Gallery

194 Currie Rd. P.O.Box 58, Dutton, Ontario N0L1J0

Tel: 1.519.762.2862

Limited Edition Print - 200 copies signed and numbered

Prints orderd here @ $110.00 + HST $14.30 = $124.30

To order please contact Jenny Phillips direct at - jennyphillips@golden.net or
call 1-519-762-2862 To order please contact Jenny Phillips direct at - jennyphillips@golden.net or
call 1-519-762-2862